Building a Better Mississippi

Mississippi Housing Hall of Fame

The Home Builders Association of Mississippi Housing Hall of Fame was established in 1988 to honor men and women who have made significant and lasting contributions to housing in Mississippi, the building industry and Home Builders Association of Mississippi.

Nominees for the Mississippi Housing Hall of Fame are not required to be members of the association, but they must have made lasting contributions to housing in Mississippi. In this context, contributions are defined as “any unique, innovative, or outstanding achievements in the design, construction, marketing or financing of housing which have made an impact on home buyers and the home building industry”. Financial success or size of a nominee’s assets shall not be considered.


The nominee’s influence may vary depending on each individual’s role. Examples of the various roles are provided below:

Builder/Developer:  Owner or major principal of a residential building company.

Government:  Elected/appointed official or individual in government service.

Housing Industry Associate:  Involved in various other sectors of the housing industry; i.e., lenders, architects, land planners, manufacturers, researchers, trade association staff, bankers.


The Hall of Fame committee selects a maximum of two nominees to be inducted. Selected honorees are inducted into the Mississippi Housing Hall of Fame in a ceremony during the Home Builders Association of Mississippi State Convention.

Nomination Form

By entering my information below, I would like to nominate the aforementioned individual for consideration for the Mississippi Housing Hall of Fame.

Past Recipients

2022 Dennis Pierce

2021 Scott Shoemaker

2021 Kenneth Estes

2020 Greg Smith

2019 Joe Robertson and Henry Watts

2018 Kevin Taylor and Bob McKay

2017 John Holliman

2016 Governor Phil Bryant and Terry Reeves

2015 Craig Flanagan and George Gunn

2014 Charlie Green and Charlie Sanders

2013 Dave Sherman 

2012 Clay Easterling 

2011 Woody Bailey and Wade Quin

2010 Donnie Massey and Charles Porter

2009 Jervis Mims

2008 Carl B. Hamilton and Lealon Harris

2007 Eddie Duran and Danny Sprouse

2006 Hollis Shoemaker

2005 J.E. Carier

2004 George E. Edwards

2003 Jim Carney and Senator Trent Lott

2002 Bill McBryde and Jon Reeves

2001 Cecil Boyd, Sidney David (Posthumous), Fred Griffin and George Guido

2000 Albert Moore

1999 Bobby Rayburn

1998 James Rasberry

1997 Lloyd "Bulldog" Burton

1996 Monroe Pointer, Sr.

1995 Grover Coker

1994 Thomas M. Harkins and Kenneth O. Smith

1993 Bennie H. Kirkland (Posthumous)

1991 Hon G.V. Sonny Montgomery, Emmett J. Williams, Jr. and Robert M. Williams, Jr.

1990 Francis X. Collins